“thrilling to hear it live with forces as fine as the Philharmonic and the Providence Singers”
Channing Gray
Providence Journal
15 October 2016
(Mozart Requiem)


Governance: The Board of Trustees

The Providence Singers Inc. is governed by a Board of Trustees of up to 18 voting members. The Board has direct oversight of the Executive Director and the Artistic Director, both of whom serve as non-voting ex officio members of the Board.

The Board carries out its responsibilities through six permanent committees and other committees it may create as necessary. Each is chaired by a Board member. With the exception of the Executive Committee, all committees include both Board members and non-members. (The Executive Committee, empowered to take certain actions on behalf of the full Board, includes only officers of the Board and chairs of committees. The Board Chair leads the Executive Committee.)

As ex officio members, the Executive Director and Artistic Director report regularly to the Board on operational and artistic matters and work together to develop the business plan and musical content for future seasons.

Officers for 2020–21

Trustees, serving through:

Beth Zarlengo  Chair
Dan Hendriksen  Treasurer
Mark Nickel  Secretary

Trustees ex officio
Elaine Cunningham
Christine Noel

June 30, 2021
Leigh Furtado
Suzanne Nassise
Mark Nickel
Carrie Scheff

June 30, 2022
Will Arvanites
Neil Brafman
Ted Doran
Dan Hendriksen
Josh Krugman

June 30, 2023

Committees of the Board of Trustees

Executive Committee
Beth Zarlengo (chair), Mike Gerhardt, Dan Hendriksen, Josh Krugman, Suzanne Nassise, Mark Nickel

Budget and Finance Committee
Dan Hendriksen (chair), Ted Doran, Alli McMillan

Planning Committee
Mark Nickel (chair)

Governance Committee
Suzanne Nassise (chair), Will Arvanites, Olivia Black, Neil Brafman

Resource Development Committee
Josh Krugman (chair), Olivia Black, Neil Brafman, Ted Doran, Leigh Furtado, Alli McMillan, Carrie Scheff

Personnel Committee
Mike Gerhardt (chair), Will Arvanites, Leigh Furtado, Carrie Scheff